Miss Shoes – Shoes you almost Missed

Shoes for the Discerning Indian Woman

Clarks Shoes, India July 6, 2009

A few years ago I spotted the first Clarks showroom in India – right beside a tiny but elegant Jockey showroom. Curious, I moved in. There were exactly 4 designs for women, and perhaps 5 for men. Each of them was lovely.  The walls were decorated with blow-ups of women’s feet clad in those same shoes, and somewhere it mentioned ‘Clarks Shoes, London’.

Discreetly placed was a banner stating a 30% discount on 1 of the designs. Excited I picked up the shoe, tried it out and fell in love. It was then that I finally flipped it over to check out the price. Rs 4000 (appx) after discount of 30%!! I slipped out of the shop.

Cut to today. There are Clarks showrooms in almost every self respecting city in India (I think). And my favourite by far is the one in Pheonix Mills, Mumbai. Though it looks bare in the first glance, it is good enough. Large, spacious, with nice sales men and good shoes, and a perpetual sale.

The designs of Clarks shoes are not extremely cutting edge Chic. They are not Jimmy Choo or Gucci, nor do they try to be. However, they are mostly leather, and some rubber based. and they are extremely comfortable.

Designs

The designs can to the undiscerning eye look almost dowdy. However, slip them on your foot before making the declaration. These shoes look extremely elegant on a foot, somehow. Ranging from the flats, to block heels, to kitten heels and even longer heels (of around 1-2 inches), they are made in such a way that they suit most feet and the overall effect is to enhance your leg – the requisite of a shoe – rather than just look showy.

Balance

I think it is extremely important for a shoe to be well balanced. So that if you are walking long distances, or over uneven turf, you don’t twist your foot. Also, it should not be uncomfortable to stand for a long time in your shoes. Clarks shoes fit the criteria. The heels however tall, are very well balanced and placed at the correct location at the heel – the curvature of the shoe usually ensures that your foot rests comfortably no matter how long you stand/ walk.

Comfort

Thanks to the well balanced heel, half the comfort problem is solved. And then there is the material of the shoe. None of them, insofar as I know, bite. No matter how new the leather. And the shoe soles are usually a little padded, so it feels comfortable and absorbs the shock while walking.

Style

Like mentioned in Design, the shoes are not cutting edge stylish, but are exactly what you want to wear on a daily basis. They are muted yet elegant and a great way to show off your style quotient. It would be very difficult to pick up a pair and make a Big Mistake in your shoe choice. The heel turns out well, and the overall shoe is well made – with attention to detail.  So the shoe always looks great. Good craftsmanship shows.

Price

Like mentioned in my opening lines, the prices can be a little steep for an average worker bee. However, like I mentioned, the Phoenix Mill shop has a perpetual discount and certain designs are always available at pretty reasonable (though 4 number) rates. They are definitely worth it.

After Sales Service

Is great. I tend to rough use my shoes a lot. And after months of rough usage, finally one of my pairs started sporting an opening in the seam along my toe, where the sole met the top. So I took the shoe to the shop. Immediately, without a murmur or demand for the purchase slip, they took it, promising a mended shoe in a week. And lo and behold. After a week, I had me shoe back in stellar condition, freshly polished and buffed, and not a mark in sight. Only the sole surface gave away the usage it had undergone in my foot – no longer the pristine cream of new shoes.

Durability

They last for ages. If they have lasted more than one year on my feet, in Mumbai, through rain, puddles, rocks and goodness knows what else, without a single scratch on the sole as well as on the surface,  I think they are extremely durable.

Overall

They are one of my fall-back pairs. My daily wear comfort shoes, that always look great. They have only select designs in India but the designs are all pretty good in nice colours. The price can be selected as per your wallet, and though the lowest end is also in thousands, I feel it is worth it. Being pure leather, with a very nice sole – both inside the shoe and outside, they are extremely durable. Like I mentioned earlier, they are stylish yet understated and elegant. And they scream the worth they are. It is rare to get shoes of this good quality, comfort and style in India, and in case you think it is too much to spend on a shoe, think of the after sales service. Though the company can look at reducing their MRPs on some designs rather than having a round the year discount on them, as long as it works for them and I get them at reasonable rates, Im OK.

I would say, Id like to see more Clarks shoe stores in India. Wait. I think there are enough. I don’t want everyone to sport the same shoes as me, now do I?

But I cant repeat enough, I think the shoes are totally worth it!

PS – For my male readers – Clarks has some very good designs for men as well, though size might be an issue. And this stands true for women as well. Essentially catering to the UK population who are bigger in size than Indians, the shoes here tend to be available in bigger sizes than the average shoe store.

They also stock handbags and other leather stuff – but not too many of these things.

 

23 Responses to “Clarks Shoes, India”

  1. DK Says:

    The Clarks store in Phoenix mills have the same designs on sale since 6 months ( male ) :(

    Ok, as I can not say anything against clarks as they are wonderful but I can only buy on discount ( astronomical prices! ) and the designs in sale are horrible. :/
    :D
    PS – charge money from clarks for free publicity! ;)

  2. Rex Says:

    ^________________^
    I can has new Clarks’ shoes and they’re just as great as you said they were!
    No breaking in required..comfy from day one.

    Agree that you should charge for publicity! xD

  3. Priya Menon Says:

    I am sad to report that the soles of my brand new clark shoes have given away after only two days usage, the sole has come apart from the front and this has saddened me to a great extent. moreover there are no contact nos available (the ones posted on the net are defunct). Pls help/ advice.

    • misshoe Says:

      Hi Priya, sorry to know of your misfortune. I dont know the phone number of Clarks, mumbai, however, if you call Pheonix Mills, Lower Parel they might be able to give you the number. Best would be if you can go there and drop in your shoes there, they will repair them and give them back to you brand new! Good Luck!

  4. priya menon Says:

    PLS give me the no of clarks shoes outlets in mumbai

  5. Park Says:

    hi i stay in Pune and i’ve tried to find any clarks store here but i counldn’t.
    if u have any information please tell me~ thanks ^^

    • Dips Says:

      Hi! Thanks for dropping by. As far as I know, there are no Clarks in Pune yet. Perhaps they will open one in some time, after they get their collaboration sorted. They have also closed the one in Mumbai.

  6. Park Says:

    Thanks for replying :>
    I wish it will open soon

  7. vinod Says:

    Hey i went to phoenix but the showroom there is shut. Is there any other place i can buy a pair of Clarks Desert Boots/

  8. This is a nice article. Please keep us updated on the availability in India.

  9. zakir Says:

    hi..
    i m searching for clarks rambler shoes since a long tym..
    can any 1 let me know if theres any clarks showroom in india…(currently)
    mumbai or delhi..
    thanks

  10. s.kumar Says:

    CLARKS shoes are very cool and comfortable to wear,they are durable too.Already i bought one pair,soon going to buy one more pair
    especially the CLARKS originals which gives you the classic look.

  11. anant Says:

    Hi ,
    Yesterday I went to Phoenix mills to buy the Clarks sandels,could not figure it out where it is ?
    is it already shifted ?
    please let me know where I can buy.

  12. NAGA Says:

    HI
    I WANT MENY MORE CLARKS SHOES. WHOSE CONSIDER PERSON IN HYDERABAD(AP) I WANT DETAILS SEND ME

  13. Sumita Roshan Says:

    Hi, I am a big lover of Clarks shoe, been wearing them for last 10 yrs, We need some outlets in Mumbai with a wide variety like they have elsewhere. The variety offered in India were outdated so i land up buying them while traveling abroad..

  14. DAVINDER SINGH WALIA Says:

    We have a very Prime Location available for LEASE/FRENHISE in the MGF METROPOLITAN MALL,M G ROAD ,GURGAON.will like to know your intrest on that location.This Mall is best in GURGAON and the footfall has gone up because of the METRO Station just opposite the Mall.

  15. [...] in Mumbai, and to my surprise, I saw a section devoted to Clark’s shoes! I have raved about their comfort earlier and I almost bought one. But then, I had recently bought something similar from Catwalk and [...]

  16. Caesar Dmonte Says:

    hi i went to the clarks showroom in phoenix mills lower parallel to get my sandals repaired the person at the showroom tells me that clarks does not repair their own brand even after the consumer is ready to pay for the repairs it ivery sad to hear that clarks is not able to give a good service to its customers pls let me know where i can get my clarks sandals repaired

  17. zoomtrader Says:

    Areas facts to consider if you wish to create dealing zoomtrader your job of choice.
    Providing you could stick with the game plan, as well as always add for your requirements routinely, not merely would you like to have the life style you could have usually imagined of, but you will be able to help cease working
    having dignity by simply being dedicated to your current program whilst buying and selling from the
    zoomtrader market place. Unfortunately, the same applies for many people investors throughout zoomtrader, and in
    addition they wind up sacrificing accomplishments employing this “strategy”.
    It is sometimes really worth several more money in order to have
    access to brokerages who have decades connected
    with knowledge in this market. zoomtrader are well-known
    since you also recognize precisely how much you can earn prior to deciding to invest, so you will find simply no concealed surprises.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.